Madras Cafe Bags two prizes at 59th Filmfare awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Madras_CafeMUMBAI, JAN 24- Madras Cafe, Indian political espionage thriller, directed by Shoojit Sircar and starring John Abraham, Nargis Fakhri and Rashi Khanna in lead roles, has bagged two awards as of now: Filmfare Best Cinematography and Best Sound Design.

Filmfare Best Cinematography was bagged by Kamaljit Negi; and Bishwadeep Chatterjee and Nihar Ranjan Samar won the award for their amazing Sound Design. Madras Cafe was stuck in controversy as the film’s alleged depiction of rebels in the Sri Lankan civil war raised concerns. Though the movie, particularly the story and direction, were appreciated by most Indian critics, the movie did average business at the Box Office.

The following is the list of winners at the 59th Filmfare Awards 2014:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tanuja
Best Music Award: Jeet Ganguly, Mithoon & Ankit Tiwari
Best Lyrics: Prasoon Joshi – Zinda (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)
Best Playback Singer, Male – Arijit Singh, Tum hi ho (Aashiqui 2)
Best Playback Singer, Female – Monali Thakur, Sawaar Loon (Lootera)
RD Burman Award: Sidharth Mahadevan
Best Choreogrpahy: Samir and Arsh Tanna – Lahu Muh Lag Gaya (Ram-leela)
Best VFX: Tata Elxis (Dhoom:3)
Best Background Score: Hitesh Sonik – Kai Po Che
Best Action: Thomas Struthers and Guru Bachchan – D Day
Best Cinematography: Kamaljit Negi – Madras Cafe
Best Editing: Aarif Sheikh – D-Day
Best Production Design – Acropolis Design (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)
Best Sound Design – Bishwadeep Chatterjee and Nihar Ranjan Samar (Madras Cafe)
Best Costume – Dolly Ahluwalia (Bhaag Milkha Bhaag)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.